First Three Chapters, as promised

As I promised a few days ago, here are the first three chapters of the third Driftwood book, which is provisionally being called Crossfire: Broken.

Crossfire: Broken

By Niki Savage
Copyright 2016 Niki Savage
 This publication is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places and incidents are either products of the author’s imagination or used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual events, locales, or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental. All rights reserved. No part of this publication can be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, without permission in writing from Niki Savage.

Crossfire: Broken

Book 3 of the Driftwood Trilogy

Chapter One

Clad in a black leather teddy, the six foot tall blonde dominatrix shook out the coils of the bullwhip she held in her hand. Some distance in front of her stood her helpless victim, but in this case, not quite so helpless. He has chosen to be here, has even brought the whip he wanted her to use, and has decided for himself how many lashes she should give him. He wanted two hundred in total, divided into ten visits. His visits were irregular, mostly four weeks apart, but after his third visit he was absent for seven weeks, leaving her panicking at the prospect of losing her biggest paying customer.

This was his fifth visit, and by the end of it, he would have received one hundred lashes in total. By now, their routine was familiar, with him already in position by the time she entered the room. It was a bit disappointing, because she would’ve liked to see his face before she punished him.

She had an intense interest in human nature, and wished that she knew why this beautiful man needed her to punish him so viciously. A bullwhip in her expert hands was a fearsome instrument. Though she was supremely skilled with the instrument, able to inflict maximum pain without breaking the skin, it was still a terrifying and excruciating experience.

None but the most hard core enthusiasts came to her for this particular treat, and even they often invoked the safe word by the fifth lash, and that was when she was going easy on them, using the bullwhip to terrify more than to injure. But it was enough for many of them to get turned on enough to get their reward, a fuck that blew their minds, because she was good at that too.

Which was why this man vexed her. She had noticed right from the start that he derived no sexual gratification from the whipping or the humiliation. Whatever pain or anger he felt, he internalized, because little of it showed on the outside. But she knew he felt the pain, because after their last meeting he had winced when putting his shirt back on. That wince had been enough to give her the sexual gratification she sought. This was a job, after all, but she wouldn’t be doing it if she didn’t enjoy it.

She focused on the man in front of her. He wasn’t secured to the rack, rather he gripped where the shackles protruded, which made it look as if he was restrained, but it was just an illusion. She knew it was for her benefit, and he has never let go of the shackles during a beating, maintaining the effect that he was helpless.

His back was smooth and tanned, showing no marks from the eighty lashes she had inflicted over the past four months, and she was proud of herself for that. He stood about six feet tall in his blue denims and black boots, and his thick black hair hung to where his neck met his shoulders. She remembered from before that he had piercing pale blue eyes, which he often hid by allowing his hair to fall into his eyes, playboy style. He always had a few days of dark stubble on his jaw, but it looked good on him. Again, she wondered why he felt in need of punishment, and she wondered about the precise amount of lashes he had requested.

But she had a job to do, so without further delay she sent the whip snaking in his direction. It let out a satisfying crack before it connected his skin, and she was gratified to see him flinch. Without giving him a moment to compose himself, she sent the lash in his direction again, harder this time.

The man sucked in a huge lungful of air after the fifth lash, and she wondered if he was about to scream, like so many of them did, but again he disappointed her, dropping his head and absorbing the pain. But she wanted his pain, wanted to see his pain, hear his pain, and so she sent the whip out again, her blood singing in her ears as the whip cracked before making contact. The man didn’t use his safe word, and she realized that this was what he wanted. She had been too easy on him until now. He wanted the pain, and she no longer cared why, intent on drawing her own satisfaction from hurting him.

~ . ~

The man hanging on the rack was in a world of agony. Fire consumed his entire body, and reignited every time the lash of the whip bit into his skin. Breathing was difficult, because the dominatrix wielding the whip gave him no time to recover between lashes. Finally the woman understood what he wanted, understood that he needed to be punished. Her blows were harder than before, and as a red haze of pain clouded his senses, he wondered if she had finally seen his black soul. If she knew what he had done, she wouldn’t stop beating him until he lay dead on the floor.

He wished that he had the courage to let his tormentor tie him up, so that he could feel the helplessness that ‘she’ must have felt. Even after all this time, he couldn’t say her name, not even in his thoughts. He wasn’t worthy, wouldn’t be worthy until all the poison had been bled from his soul. With every blow that rained on his back, more poison seeped from him. But would it ever be enough, or would he become addicted to the pain, needing more and more of it to feel the peace that came afterwards?

He bit back the cry that rose to his lips as the lash cut his skin, and after the fierce burn, he felt a warm rivulet of blood dribbling down his violated skin, soaking into the waistband of his jeans. Yes, his tormentor finally understood. He needed her to beat him like a bad dog. She had to make him pay for his sins.

~ . ~

By the time the dominatrix came to her senses, the man had multiple rivulets of blood dribbling down his back, but still he held on to the shackles on the rack. He had taken all twenty lashes without using the safe word, which made this a dangerous situation, for her as well as for him. If she couldn’t control herself, and he didn’t stop her, where would it end?

“It’s over,” she said loudly, expecting that he would let go of the shackles and reach for his shirt, as he had before.

But after letting go of the shackles, he slowly sank to the floor, remaining on his knees and hugging himself as if to keep the pain inside. She ripped her mask off and ran to him as fast as her stiletto boots allowed. From close up his wounds looked bad, and she cursed herself for losing control. She touched the man’s shoulder with her gloved hand, but he didn’t respond to her touch.

“Are you alright?” she asked, tugging more urgently at his shoulder.

He took a deep breath and turned to her. “Like that,” he said in a husky voice. “That’s what I want, just like that, every time.”

She was unaware that her mouth had dropped open as she stared at him, noticing how his blue eyes glittered in the dimly lit room, as if a light came from inside them. Whether it was the light of near insanity she couldn’t say for sure, but it made her feel sick to her stomach.

* * * *

Chapter Two

Karl glanced at Nancy, who sat beside him on the veranda of her house in Sandton. On the large green lawn in front of them, Danny played with the boy from next door. After their return from their holiday on the North Coast of South Africa, Danny looked tanned and healthy, so different from the pale, emaciated child he had rescued from the Somali pirates.

At the same time as he remembered the rescue, the unwelcome image of Stefan broken and motionless on the deck of the pirate ship flashed through his mind. He moved uncomfortably, shaking his head slightly.

Nancy put a comforting hand on his thigh. “What’s wrong? You look as if the world’s just descended on your shoulders.”

He sighed. “It’s back to reality tomorrow, I guess.”

She stroked his thigh gently. “It doesn’t have to be.”

He turned to her, a slight frown on his forehead. “I don’t understand.”

“You could stay longer, or maybe forever.”

Karl’s frown deepened. “I thought we agreed that once we’re married, our home will be on La Montagne.”

“I know, but these past ten days have been heavenly. It was so nice to see you on the beach, just being a normal father to your son.”

“I am a normal father. What are you getting at?”

“You’re not a normal father, Karl, not really. I worry about what might happen to Danny if you were suddenly…gone. He’s grown so attached to you that I fear he might never recover.”

“What’s brought this on?” he said, trying to keep the irritation out of his voice.

Nancy clasped both her hands in her lap. She stared at Danny and his friend clambering on the jungle gym for a few moments before she took a deep breath. “I can’t stop thinking about…Stefan and Marcelle. It’s been ten months, and nobody knows if Stefan’s even still alive. It’s so horrible, and I can’t imagine what Marcelle and her children must be going through.”

Karl clenched his teeth and counted to ten before he said, “Marcelle is tough, and she’s a good mother. She’ll get through this.”

“I don’t care how tough she is. The love of her life is missing, presumed dead, and one day her little boys are going to want to know where Stefan is.”

“We’ll cross that bridge when we come to it,” Karl said, keeping his tone even while trying to relax the tension gathering between his shoulder blades.

“Have you seen Marcelle recently? I just assumed that I would run into her on La Montagne, but Charlotte told me she hasn’t been back since she left with her kids.”

Karl cleared his throat. “I haven’t seen her in a while.”

“While Stefan was in hospital you were all over her, and now you’re just ignoring her? Why?”

“I’ve been busy with the search for Stefan, and running Omega, and visiting you and Danny. And in between all that, I’ve led a few missions in Europe, and two in Africa. We’re running short of senior personnel with Heinrich and me sharing the administrative duties. I’m going to appoint a senior man to do the admin, because Heinrich and I are required in the field. Our expertise is wasted behind a desk.”

“But you’re safe there.”

Karl stiffened. “What are you talking about?”

“Don’t you think it’s time?”

“For what?”

“Karl, you have me, and you have Danny. Imagine how we would feel if one day…”

“Get to the point, Nancy.”

“I just mean I would sleep better if I knew you were safe. You asked me last week to marry you, and I said I would think about it. But all I’ve been able to think about is…” She pressed her hands to her mouth. “I can’t say it.”

Karl didn’t answer her, keeping his eyes focused on the boys playing in the yard.

When Nancy touched his arm, he stiffened. “Is this what you think about all day? Me dead and you alone? I thought we’d moved past that?”

“I can’t get past it. Every day I think about Marcelle and imagine her pain, and I know I wouldn’t survive it if that had to happen to us. Her children are too young to remember Stefan, but Danny is turning eight next year.”

“I’m trying to think where this conversation is leading. What are you trying to achieve here?”

“I want you to choose us. Choose life. Be with us.” When Karl didn’t answer she carried on fervently, “I’ll marry you and live on La Montagne with you. I’ll give up my job and my friends and everything I know. We can have more children, anything you want. I love you, so much.”

Karl jumped to his feet, his agitation not allowing him to remain seated. “I seem to recall we’ve had this conversation before.”

“I know what I said in Mozambique.”

“And?”

“My viewpoint hasn’t changed.”

“You just learned to hide it a bit better, didn’t you?” Karl said, a sneer marring his handsome features. “You thought if you gave me time to get attached to Danny, I might give in this time, and let you neuter me for good.”

“Neuter? What do you mean?”

“What do you think it would do to me to watch my men go on missions while I sit behind a desk? I’m still a young man, and in the best shape of my life. My skills are in demand on the battlefield, and the war we’re fighting against terrorism is far from over.”

“But Danny…”

“What about Danny? I love him, but I’d prefer it if he remembered me as a man who fought for what he believed in, rather than a weakling who spent his time behind a desk so his wife could feel secure. Do you realize what you’re asking me do? You might as well cut my balls off and put them on your mantelpiece as a trophy.”

“That’s not what I want. Please, just listen to me.”

“I have listened to you. You’re singing the same tune you sang in Mozambique and I didn’t fall for it then, nor am I falling for it now.”

Nancy’s back stiffened. “You’re being very disrespectful. I don’t deserve this.” She wrung her hands together in her lap until her knuckles showed white. “I want you to think about this, and I want you to choose. I deserve more than what you’re giving me.”

Karl’s mouth fell open in surprise. “You mean my love isn’t enough? I’ve taken you back into my life, despite the circumstances of your rescue. Despite the fact that my best friend is missing, possibly dead, and his wife is in agony. I’ve looked past all that and loved you and Danny anyway. And now you say that isn’t enough.”

“True love demands sacrifice.”

Karl laughed incredulously. “Sacrifice? What about the sacrifice Marcelle has made? Her husband is gone. My friend is gone. We made sacrifices so that you could live. But what have you sacrificed?”

Nancy remained silent and dropped her gaze to her lap.

“Tell me!” he shouted with such vehemence that she jumped in her seat.

“I feel as if you hate me right now,” she said in a small voice.

“Hate is overrated as an emotion,” he said coldly. “I warned you if you started your shit again, I would walk away without looking back. Well, consider me gone.”

“But what about Danny?”

“I won’t let you use him as a weapon against me. Call me if you want him to visit and I’ll send the plane for him.” He shrugged. “Or don’t. But whatever you do, you’ll have to answer for it when he’s older.”

Nancy stared at him, her eyes bright with tears. “I guess I was a fool thinking this could work.”

“No, I was the fool to let you draw me back in again. Goodbye, Nancy.”

Without a further word, he strode into the house and grabbed his bags, still packed from their trip to the coast.

Five minutes later, he was in his rented BMW, speeding up the street, heading for the airport. But the anger seething inside him needed an outlet and a short while later he pulled into a side street and cut the engine.

For a few seconds he sat motionless, trying to bring himself under control. But his breathing increased as he lost the battle, and he roared with rage as he slammed both his fists onto the steering wheel, again and again as his fury rose inside him like a tidal wave.

Long minutes passed before his anger ebbed, leaving him wrung out and breathless.

He should have taken the time to say goodbye to Danny before he left, he thought, filled with regret as he imagined the boy’s surprise to find him gone. But Nancy had left him no choice. The moment she had started speaking about Marcelle the scene had been set for a confrontation.

He has made every effort to get over what happened to Marcelle and Stefan, and move on with his life, and it was partly the reason why he’s avoided contact with Marcelle. He moved uncomfortably at the thought, remembering the vow he had made. But instead of keeping his vow, he had chased his own happiness, enjoying a carefree holiday while Marcelle suffered and Stefan remained lost.

Inadvertently Nancy had reminded him of that fact, while at the same time pushing her own agenda. Instinctively he knew that getting out of there had been the right thing to do. He had left before he said things he could never recall. The amount of anger he still felt towards Nancy had astonished him. He thought he had moved past all that, but the mere mention of Marcelle and her pain about the loss of Stefan had brought it all to the fore again. Without knowing it, Nancy had pushed all the wrong buttons and sabotaged herself in the process.

The guilt settled heavily on his shoulders. He could never give Nancy what she wanted, and he could never give Marcelle back what she needed. But maybe he should at least try.

~ . ~

Karl checked into the Southern Sun Airport hotel but declined the porter’s offer to carry his bags to his room, preferring to do it himself. He had no choice but to stay overnight, because the Omega jet was only due to pick him up the next morning, and wasn’t even on route yet, which was fortunate. He picked up his phone and made the call to cancel the jet. He planned to take a commercial flight to his next destination.

* * * *

Chapter Three

Marcelle sighed as she pushed open the door of her hotel room in Stuttgart, Germany. She had hoped that winning the world championships for a fourth time might lift her spirits, even if just for a little while, but after the press conference she had felt her mood plummeting. Perhaps the celebrations later would lift her spirits. Several of the French riders were staying in the same hotel, and they planned to meet in the bar downstairs later that evening.

After a long, hot shower, she dressed in a comfortable gray tracksuit and stretched out on top of the covers of the double bed. She was exhausted from her exertions earlier in the day, and fell asleep within minutes.

~ . ~

When she opened her eyes a few hours later, she saw Karl sitting on a chair beside her bed. She squeezed her eyes shut and opened them again. But Karl still sat there, watching her with kindness in his eyes. Her heart plummeted. He had to be the bearer of bad news. She sat up, and without warning, tears spilled from her eyes. No, no, no, no.

“I’m sorry,” she said with a sniff. “It’s just a bit of a shock, seeing you here. Is Stefan still alive?”

Karl leaned forward and took one of her hands in his. “To be honest, Tiger, we don’t know. It’s been ten months, and we’ve found no sign of him.”

She stared at the lines of hardship around his mouth, and wondered if Kris had them too. The twins were suffering, not knowing what had happened to the cousin that they had come to regard as a brother.

She flicked her tears away with impatient fingers, angry with herself for having such a fragile hold on her feelings. “So why are you here then?”

“Do I need a reason to see my favorite sister in law?”

Marcelle tried but failed to smile. “I guess not.” She swung her legs over the edge of the bed and rose to her feet.

Karl jumped to his feet and grabbed her shoulder to steady her as she swayed for a moment before finding her balance.

She grimaced. “Sorry, low blood pressure. I shouldn’t get up so fast. And today’s race was hard.”

“For you, Tiger? I can’t believe that.”

“I’m not as fit as I usually am. Yes, I could still give those girls a hiding, but I had to put a lot of effort into it.”

“Well, congratulations. World champion again. But I thought you were planning to sit this season out, and have a baby.”

Marcelle led the way to a couch and sat down. Karl settled next to her.

“Yes, that was the plan,” she said. At Karl’s questioning expression she continued, “They implanted four embryos, and not one of them took. Actually, one of them did take, but I miscarried after six weeks.”

Karl pulled her into his arms. “I’m so sorry. I know you had hoped to draw comfort from carrying Jean-Michel’s child.”

She snuggled against his chest. “Even that has been denied me. The doctors said we can try again in a few months, but I’ve decided against it. I’ve realized that I’m really in a bad headspace right now. The miscarriage was probably nature’s way of protecting me. I’m hardly in a fit state to deal with the hormone changes of pregnancy.”

“So you started training again.”

“Yes, though I had missed most of the season, I trained and gained enough fitness to participate in the Tour de Feminin, and that brought me to race fitness to do world champs. And here I am.”

“And where are the boys?”

“With their grandparents. They’re happy to take care of them. They feel as if they’re getting a second chance with Jean-Michel. They’ve shown me his baby photos, and the resemblance is uncanny. Perhaps this will help them to heal too.”

“But what about Nicky?”

“They regard me as their daughter, and Nicky is a part of me, so as far they’re concerned he’s family too. They call him Nicholas instead of Nikolai, but I guess the French form is easier for them to pronounce.”

“When last did you see them?”

She sat up, moving out of his embrace. “About two months ago,” she said, an expression of guilt passing over her face. “But the season is over now, so I’ll be returning to the farm to be with them again. I’m sure they haven’t even missed me.”

“Are they talking yet?”

Marcelle smiled softly. “Just baby talk so far, but I’m sure they’ll get there.”

“Well, the reason I’m here is to invite you to La Montagne for the off season, the same as always. It’s your home too, you know.”

She shrugged, tears glistening in her eyes. “How can it be my home if Stefan isn’t there?”

“But we’re there, and your friends are there. Everyone would love to see the twins and spend some time with you. You’re family. Please Marcelle. Even if you just come for a month to brush up on your training. Remember you’re a rich woman, and therefore a target for kidnapping. I’m glad to see you’re still wearing your watch.”

Marcelle lovingly stroked over the gleaming timepiece on her wrist. “I never take it off. I don’t want to disappear without a trace again.”

“How do you think I tracked you to Germany?” Karl said with a wink. “Have you considered getting something similar for the twins? If you bring them to La Montagne we can explore a few options for a wrist or ankle band.”

“Actually that’s a great idea.” A shadow flitted across her face. “If I had to lose them too, I don’t know what I would do. But I guess they’re safe for now. I mean the world doesn’t even know of their existence. I was on La Montagne for my entire pregnancy, so there were no paparazzi pictures to entertain the public.”

“Best we keep it that way. Can you imagine if they knew? You wouldn’t have a moment of peace.”

“That’s why I took them straight to the farm. I had promised Jean-Michel that his children would grow up on the farm and get to know the wine business. Of course, I had hoped that he would be the one teaching them, but his father is still young enough to do it, so I guess that’s fine. But it would only be fair for them to spend time on La Montagne too, so that Nicky can learn about what his father has built.”

Karl smiled, but he had a sad look in his eyes. Clearly, he didn’t have much hope of finding Stefan after more than ten months.

“But I’ll continue to keep their existence a secret. They haven’t been to my apartment even. Not even my teammates know I have two children. Only Claude knows, and Anthony, and of course Doc Louis. But not Pierre-Henri. I still haven’t forgiven him for that time he gave me amphetamines and nearly killed me.”

Karl nodded. “Stefan wanted to sort him out for that, but the doc made him promise to behave.”

“Is Stefan really gone, Karl? Have you looked, really looked?”

“We’ve used all of Omega’s resources, and we’ll keep doing so. Sooner or later he has to surface.”

“If he’s still alive.”

Karl grimaced. “If he’s still alive.”

Marcelle stared down at her hands. “The thing I miss the most is being held. I miss his arms holding me tight when I feel like I’m ready to fall apart. I need his arms around me now, but I’m alone. I thought that winning the world champs would make me feel lighter, but it only lasted a few minutes.”

Karl moved closer and put his arms around her, cradling the back of her head in the palm of his right hand before pressing her face against his chest. “I’ll hold you, Marcelle, for as long as you need me to. I know it’s not the same, but it’s all I can offer.”

# # #

About Niki Savage

Author of the Crossfire Trilogy, the Blackstone Chronicles, and the Driftwood Trilogy, available at Amazon. Find me on Twitter @nikisavage http://nikisavage.com

Posted on January 23, 2016, in Books, Excerpts from Crossfire, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 45 Comments.

  1. That is some good writing Niki. I surely do love your stories. Can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Tonya. Believe me, what happens in chapter 4 will knock your socks off. I wish I can get it finished faster so I can publish it quicker, but I’m only about halfway, and then I have to allow time for editing etc, so I guess May is the quickest I can manage it. Hope you have a wonderful weekend and remember to keep warm. Sounds like there are some heavy snowfalls in your area. 😊

      Like

      • Don’t you even hurry. It is turning out so much better than I imagined. Wanting to know what’s up with Stefan is making me crazy. In a good way of course. The hype of the unknown. Is Karl getting feelings for the wrong woman? Will Nancy win Karl back? Lots of fun trying to guess my way through this story. Happy writing!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh, so many questions, Tonya. 😉 Now you got me smiling. All will be revealed in good time. Happy Sunday ! 😀

        Like

      • Hehehe! Have you forgotten how I think through these things? Always inquisitive! You have such fun twists to your stories. Keeps me guessing. I love it. !!!
        Freezing rain and snow. So lots of reading time.
        Waiting patiently for more!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Niki we have 10in of snow this came at a great time. I loved it good job keep the good writing
    Going .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Carolyn. I’m glad you enjoyed the excerpt. Wow, 10 inches is plenty. I’ve been watching the pics of the snowstorm on CNN. Looks quite chilly and rather dangerous. Stay safe and keep warm. 😊

      Like

  3. Niki,
    This is so exciting and absolutely amazing, gets the heart pumping. I really can’t wait for the rest. Absolutely love reading your books, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Niki
    I love your books new to the series and can’t wait to find out what happens next.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Krista, welcome. I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed my books. The third Driftwood book will be available in May this year so it’s not too long to wait. I hope you have a wonderful day. 😊

      Like

  5. Pauline Robson

    Hi Niki what a fantastic start to Crossfire Broken Im really looking forward to the release of the book.Thank you for letting us read the first three chapter’s.I am also looking forward to books you write in the future .you have fantastIc storylines many thanks xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pauline if you like a little paranormal, try reading Lily’s Reprieve if you haven’t already. Niki has a fantastic character you just might find interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Tonya. Of course you’re referring to Aidan Knight. To let you in on a secret, he’s my perfect book boyfriend. Would love to have him walk off the pages and into my life. Yum. 😜

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Niki. Yes it is Aidan Knight. Hehehe. You can have Aidan. You know Driftwoods Karl is my man! He can show up on a beach anytime. I’d give some mouth to mouth to that man. ( blushing)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yep. You’re right. Karl is super gorgeous. 😛 But Aidan is immortal, and a gazillionaire. Just a pity about his radiation problem. 😟

        Liked by 1 person

      • Says the author. Radiation just makes him that much hotter. Besides only your imagination can change the outcome of how dangerous his radiation is. Hehehe! I know you just keep him hot so you can keep him for yourself.(/cheesy smile) But for me I’m happy with a man I can be hands on with. Besides he has some money too. And we’ll be too busy to spend it. Haha hehehe

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lol. Yep, Karl has about 200 Million dollars to his name. Good for a shopping trip or two. Nice chatting to you, Tonya. Have a great day. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Pauline. I’m thrilled that you’ve enjoyed the first three chapters. I’m working hard on completing the manuscript and will be ready to publish in May this year. And thank you for such lovely compliments. I really love writing my stories and to know that so many readers are enjoying them is really the cherry on top.
      I hope you have a lovely day. 😀

      Like

  6. Hey Niki,
    I am a big fan of your stories, and have been waiting for the final book in the Blackstone trilogy for almost 3 years now 😐
    Every month, I’ve been checking to see if it’s been published, but it never is.
    When can we expect the torture to end?

    Like

    • Hi Grace, welcome back. I searched for and found your previous comment, as well as my reply where I promised the third Blackstone book by September 2015. Please accept my apologies for missing that deadline. As you will see from my other blog posts and comments that I have answered, I had a second shoulder operation in September 2015 and my recovery has been slow. I have every intention of bringing the third Blackstone book out by the end of this year, so please be patient just a little longer. 😀

      Like

  7. Really looking forward to your next book! Was just checking on Twitter for any updates on release date etc. and I’ve noticed you’ve blocked me ? Any reason for that ?

    Like

  8. Thanks have emailed it to you. Not on Twitter much but thought I’d quickly check for any updates on the next book. Was quite a surprise when I couldn’t see you!

    Like

    • Hi Amanda, I’ve fixed it up. Pls accept my apologies. As you say, your account isn’t very active and you don’t have a profile pic. I think my Twitter software mistook it for an inactive account. Sorry about that. With reference to my next release it will be available at the end of May. 😊

      Like

  9. Victoria Ellis

    Are you still on schedule for May? Do you have a date for publication yet please? I love these books and I can’t wait to see how they end.

    Like

    • Hi Victoria. Thank you for contacting me. Yes, I’m still on schedule, and I’ve decided 31 May is a great day to publish. Yikes, that’s like six weeks away. 😳 I better get cracking again. Hope you have a great day.

      Like

  10. Jackie Theron

    Hi Niki,
    Please can you let us know if you have a release date for Driftwood book 3 yet? Looking forward to reading your next books.

    Like

  11. Sandra Farias

    Hi Niki, I enjoyed reading your work again. I have to admit, I really want a happy union soon but I will be patient and leave that up to you. I really enjoy reading about these characters. In fact, I’m going to start over…I should be done reading the 5 books again by the time the 6th one is out. Thanks so much for all the hours of enjoyment Niki…
    Sincerely, Sandra

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Sandra. Yes, a happy union has to occur, but of course I have to torture them first. Lol. I’m thrilled that you’re enjoying my characters. After so many years they’re beginning to feel like friends, so it’s with a bit of sadness that I’m writing the last book in the series. But when I’m finished I’m going to read all six books in a row. 😉
      I hope you have a great evening. 😀

      Like

      • OMG, re-read the whole series again for 3rd time – still captivates me and can’t get enough even when I know what is happening! 😍 Love stefan & Marcelle, hope they find their way back to each other again and that Karl & Nancy, have a happy ending. More for Karl, such a lovely character.
        I don’t know how am I going to cope with 20 days😭😱🤔…. He,he!
        Amazing series and so excited to read the next part, but also very sad that it will be the final part.
        Thank you for your amazing work, that has me inthralled, for hours. 😀📖

        Like

      • Hi Jem. To tell you a secret, Karl is one of my favorite characters too. He is so tough and strong and gorgeous but when you look inside he has a heart made of pure caramel. Only for his friends of course. 😉
        Don’t worry, 20 days isn’t long to wait.
        I’m thrilled that you’ve enjoyed the series so much. I was like that with the Twilight books. I must have reread them four times at least. 😍
        I hope you have a wonderful day. 😊

        Like

      • Sandra Farias

        On no…Niki. You mean book 3 is the end? The thing I hate most about reading is that the stories have to end. Stephan and Marcelle are still young, you can write more, can’t you? Now I’m so depressed…
        I’m reading the 5 books now…so far I’m half way through the 3rd…I’m so grateful for your story telling talents but I really am so sad that you’re working on the end story. Well thanks, Niki. I’ll have to get over it, I guess.
        You have a pleasant evening as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. HI Niki
    I have enjoyed reading your books I started with the Crossfire first as a new read and was not able to put it down read all 3 books within a few days and now I have started reading driftwood, which I too don’t want to put down.

    I have enjoyed them so much that I can not wait for more stories. As a South African it is wonderful to enjoy the reading of books like this from someone that lives in the country.

    thank you very much for the reads.

    Like

    • Hi Claudia, it’s lovely to meet a fellow South African. I’m so glad you’re enjoying my books. Remember the book after Driftwood is Somali Sunrise. And the sequel to that will be available 31 May, so that isn’t too long to wait.
      I hope you have a great evening. 😊

      Like

  13. Hi Niki

    It is sad to heard that there is only 1 more book. Which i must say will be great to read.

    I can’t wait for it, but first lets finisg driftwood.

    Thanks for the reply.

    Regards

    Claudia

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I am so excited about the release of the next book. I love all the characters. I can’t wait to see what happens. Do you have any idea when it will be released.

    Like

  15. How long until next chapter?! Dying!!!
    Spent last 3 days binging on these books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Nicci. So glad you’re enjoying my books. 👏😀 The good news is that you’ll be able to read the next chapter, and the rest of the book on the 31st May. Not long to wait now. 😉

      Like

  16. Hi I just want to say I’m a huge fan and think all of your books are fantastic, I love that they’re not over the top mushy romance and that you keep them interesting with the drama and suspense. See the third Driftwood book, do you know what time it will be available to buy because I can’t see it on Amazon yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Sorry I didn’t realise my first email sent lol. I bought it on Amazon just now, I can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  18. OMG, why won’t it let me download this book, waited so long!! 😭😭😭
    Is it available in uk yet on Amazon, just keeps saying not available to download on your device, but it’s what I’ve downloaded all my books on!! Pleeeeeeesssseee Heeeelllp!!! 😫

    Like

    • Hi Jem. 😊 Please just be patient for a bit. Amazon is busy distributing it to the various electronic stores and that takes a few hours. I can’t see it yet in the SA store either. It is available on Smashwords already.

      Like

Leave a comment